This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links.

The Farmer’s Dog Review: An Honest Take on Fresh Dog Food

The Farrmer Dog
  • 10/10
    Quality of Ingredients - 10/10
  • 8.8/10
    Variety - 8.8/10
  • 9.4/10
    Cost - 9.4/10
9.4/10

Summary

I’ll cut to the chase and say we love The Farmer’s Dog. Apart from the amazing quality and competitive prices (in relation to fresh dog food), they offer DIY homemade dog food recipes as well, proving the company’s mission is to improve the health of dogs and not to just make a penny.

Coupon: 50% off Farmer’s Dog

Last Updated: February 21, 2024 by Lisa Melillo

Imagine a world where “dog food” doesn’t just mean the standard dry kibble or the ubiquitous canned mystery meat. Picture a culinary universe where our furry friends feast on meals that rival the quality of our dinner plates. This is the vision of The Farmer’s Dog, a fresh dog food delivery service that’s challenging traditional pet food norms.

The Farmer’s Dog isn’t just another pet food brand; it’s a gastronomic revolution in the canine world. Offering subscription-based, personalized meals, this service is redefining the way we think about feeding our dogs. Each meal is crafted from human-grade, USDA-certified ingredients, tailored to meet the unique nutritional needs of your pet. The recipes are not only made with love but also backed by science, as a team of board-certified veterinary nutritionists ensures every dish meets the AAFCO standards for a balanced diet.

As we delve into The Farmer’s Dog Review, we’re left pondering: Is this the future of dog food? Could it be time to say goodbye to kibble? Stay tuned as we uncover whether The Farmer’s Dog is as groundbreaking as it claims to be.

History of The Farmer’s Dog 

farmers dog logo

The Farmer’s Dog was born from a personal need – a common story in the world of pet care. Co-founder Brett Podolsky faced a dilemma when his beloved dog, Jada, suffered from severe stomach issues. This struggle is something I, as a veterinary technician, encounter regularly: the challenge of finding suitable nutrition for pets with sensitive systems. Driven by love and necessity, Brett sought a better solution, leading him to a fundamental insight: dogs, like humans, flourish on fresh, whole foods.

Concept to Reality: Nutritionist-Designed Meals

With this realization, Brett teamed up with Jonathan Regev in 2014, embarking on a mission to redefine dog nutrition. Together, they consulted with veterinary nutritionists to formulate meals that prioritize health and taste. As a professional in animal health, I appreciate this science-driven approach. It’s not just about crafting appealing meals; it’s about ensuring each dish is nutritionally complete and balanced for our canine companions.

A Commitment to Quality and Freshness

What sets The Farmer’s Dog apart is their manufacturing process. Eschewing traditional kibble production, they opt for preparing food in USDA kitchens, focusing on quality and freshness. Each batch is cooked at controlled temperatures to preserve nutritional value—a critical factor in promoting overall canine health and well-being.

Looking Ahead: A Legacy of Love and Innovation

The story of The Farmer’s Dog is a continuous journey inspired by love and innovation. It’s an evolving narrative that demonstrates the impact of thoughtful, conscientious pet care. The company’s ethos reflects a broader philosophy that our dogs aren’t just pets; they’re family members deserving of the finest nutrition we can provide.

Getting Started with The Farmer’s Dog: A Tailored Journey to Canine Wellness

Have you ever wished you could have a personal nutritionist for your dog, someone to craft the perfect meal plan tailored just for them? Well, with The Farmer’s Dog, it’s almost like you do! It starts with something as simple as an online quiz, but it’s a leap into a world of personalized canine nutrition that can make a world of difference for your furry friend. 

Step One: The Personalized Online Quiz

Imagine sitting down with a cup of your favorite beverage and taking a moment to chat about your dog’s eating habits, lifestyle, and health needs. That’s essentially what the online quiz from The Farmer’s Dog feels like. It’s a conversation starter, asking all the right questions about your dog’s breed, age, activity level, and any special dietary needs they might have. This quiz is the first step in tailoring a meal plan that fits your dog like a snug, cozy harness.

Step Two: Crafting a Customized Meal Plan

Based on your quiz answers, the folks at The Farmer’s Dog, much like a dedicated vet team, whip up a meal plan that’s as unique as your dog’s personality. They consider everything – from calorie requirements to health goals – ensuring your pup gets just what they need for wagging tails and healthy, shiny coats.

Step Three: Delivery Right to Your Doorstep

The convenience of The Farmer’s Dog is something I can’t bark about enough! The customized meals are portioned, packed, and delivered to your doorstep, fresher than a morning walk. It’s like having a personal dog chef, ensuring your pooch gets the freshest, most nutritious meals without you having to lift a paw.

Step Four: Easy Transition to The Farmer’s Dog Diet

Switching your dog to a new diet can sometimes be as tricky as teaching an old dog a new trick. But fear not! The Farmer’s Dog provides clear, easy-to-follow guidelines for a gradual diet change, ensuring your dog’s tummy is as happy as their taste buds.

Step Five: Ongoing Support and Adjustments

What I adore about The Farmer’s Dog is their ongoing commitment to your dog’s health. They’re like your partner in pet parenting, ready to adjust your dog’s meal plan as their needs change, just like we do in the clinic. It’s a support system that makes sure your dog’s nutritional needs are always met, no matter what life throws their way.

Unboxing Farmer’s Dog Food

The day my first shipment from The Farmer’s Dog arrived was memorable. The large brown box, adorned with witty marketing slogans like “If your dog doesn’t love it, send it back. We’ll eat it,” hinted at the brand’s playful and confident spirit.

But it was the warning of perishable fresh food inside that piqued my interest. As a veterinary technician, I know the importance of fresh food, so I was eager to see how well they managed to deliver it. I gave the box a gentle “shake test” and was impressed by the lack of movement inside, indicating everything was securely packed.

Unboxing: Thoughtful Packaging and Cool Contents

Upon opening the box, I was greeted with a sight that warmed both my heart and my professional sensibilities. Each pack of The Farmer’s Dog food was snugly fitted inside the container, showing a level of thoughtfulness in packaging. What’s more, the contents were kept impressively cold, thanks to dry ice and biodegradable insulation that, to my amazement, can dissolve in the sink – talk about eco-friendly!

The Contents: Freshness and Convenience in Every Pack

Inside the box were 14 pre-portioned packs of fresh dog food, a testament to The Farmer’s Dog’s commitment to convenience and quality. As someone meticulous about portion sizes and food freshness, this approach resonated with me. The addition of a recyclable container for storing leftovers was a thoughtful touch, especially for pet parents who split their dog’s meals into two servings a day.

Feeding Instructions: A Smart Approach

I particularly appreciated The Farmer’s Dog’s feeding instructions. Unlike other high-quality dog food brands that recommend refrigerating packs and using them within a certain timeframe, The Farmer’s Dog advises to freeze all but one pack immediately. This ensures freshness and simplifies the feeding process. As you serve one thawed pack to your dog, you simply take another out of the freezer for the next meal. This method, in my view, is a clever way to maintain the food’s freshness and make daily feedings hassle-free.

The Farmer’s Dog Review: Ingredients and Quality

When it comes to dog food, as a veterinary technician, I scrutinize every detail like a detective at a crime scene. The quality and source of ingredients are paramount, and this is where The Farmer’s Dog truly shines. Let me guide you through the ingredients and quality of The Farmer’s Dog meals, dissecting why they stand out in a market saturated with options.

A Peek into the Ingredient List: Freshness Front and Center

The Farmer's Dog quality

The first thing that struck me about The Farmer’s Dog recipes was the freshness and simplicity of the ingredients. We’re talking real meat as the primary ingredient – beef, turkey, chicken – you name it. It’s accompanied by wholesome veggies like sweet potatoes, carrots, and leafy greens, ingredients I often recommend to pet parents for a balanced diet.

What’s absent is equally important – no fillers, no preservatives, and no additives that sound like they belong in a chemistry lab, not a dog bowl.

Quality You Can Trust: Human-Grade and Vet-Approved

Each ingredient in The Farmer’s Dog meals is human-grade, a term we’re seeing more in pet food but not always adhered to strictly. This means the food is prepared in USDA-approved kitchens, adhering to standards fit for human consumption. As someone who’s spent years in vet clinics, I can’t stress enough how vital this is for safety and quality. Plus, their recipes are developed with the input of veterinary nutritionists, ensuring each meal is not just tasty but also balanced and nutritious.

Transparency in Sourcing: Knowing Where Your Dog’s Food Comes From

The Farmer’s Dog emphasizes transparency in sourcing their ingredients, which is a breath of fresh air. They work with reputable suppliers and prioritize sustainability and ethical practices. This level of transparency allows pet parents to have greater confidence in what they’re feeding their furry family members, something I always advocate for in my consultations.

Tailored for Digestibility: Gentle on Tummies

As a vet tech, I’ve seen my fair share of dogs with sensitive stomachs. The Farmer’s Dog recipes are designed with digestibility in mind. The gentle cooking process preserves the nutritional integrity of the ingredients while making them easy on your dog’s digestive system. This is particularly crucial for dogs with specific dietary needs or sensitivities.

Consistent Quality Control: Ensuring Every Meal is Up to Par

Lastly, The Farmer’s Dog doesn’t just set high standards; they consistently maintain them. With rigorous quality control processes in place, each batch of food is tested to ensure it meets their high standards. This commitment to quality means that each meal is as good as the last, providing peace of mind for pet parents.

The Farmer’s Dog Product Line 

How to get started with Farmer's Dog

The Farmer’s Dog doesn’t just offer a one-recipe-fits-all solution; they have crafted a variety of meal options to cater to different canine tastes and dietary needs. As a veterinary technician, I appreciate this diversity, understanding that just like us, dogs have their preferences and nutritional requirements.

Turkey Recipe

The Turkey Recipe is a hit, especially for dogs with sensitive stomachs or those who prefer a leaner protein. In this dish, turkey isn’t just a token ingredient; it’s the star of the show, providing high-quality, easily digestible protein. The simplicity of the ingredients list speaks volumes about the quality. It’s free from fillers and artificial additives, ensuring that your dog gets nothing but the best.

Ingredients

Turkey, Chickpeas, Carrot, Broccoli, Spinach, Parsnip, TFD Nutrient Blend, Salmon Oil
  • 8%

    Crude Protein

  • 4.5%

    Crude Fat

  • 1.5%

    Crude Fiber

Beef Recipe

For the pups that drool at the mere mention of beef, The Farmer’s Dog Beef Recipe is like a gourmet feast. Rich in protein and flavor, the beef used is of high quality, ensuring your dog gets the energy and nutrients they need. This meal is a hearty option, perfect for active dogs or those needing a bit more pep in their step. And, as always, it’s made with the same commitment to freshness and quality as the rest of their line.

Ingredients

Beef, Sweet Potato, Lentils, Carrot, Beef Liver, Kale, Sunflower Seeds, TFD Nutrient Blend, Salmon Oil
  • 11%

    Crude Protein

  • 8%

    Crude Fat

  • 1.5%

    Crude Fiber

Chicken Recipe

Chicken is a classic favorite among dogs, and The Farmer’s Dog Chicken Recipe doesn’t disappoint. It’s a crowd-pleaser, combining high-quality chicken with wholesome ingredients. This recipe is not just about great taste; it’s packed with nutrients essential for your dog’s health. 

Ingredients

Chicken, Chicken Liver, Broccoli, Cauliflower, Brussels Sprouts, Chia Seeds, TFD Nutrient Blend, Salmon Oil
  • 11%

    Crude Protein

  • 7.5%

    Crude Fat

  • 1.5%

    Crude Fiber

A Common Ingredient Across Product Lines 

In all of these recipes, there’s one common denominator: TFD Nutrient blend. It’s a mix of the following ingredients: Tricalcium Phosphate, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Bitartrate, Magnesium Amino Acid Chelate, Taurine, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin E Supplement, Selenium Yeast, Potassium Iodide, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Folic Acid.

You May Also Like: Just Food For Dogs

The Farmer’s Dog DIY Nutrient Mix

In the ever-evolving world of canine nutrition, The Farmer’s Dog has introduced an innovative product that piqued my interest both professionally and personally: The Farmer’s Dog DIY Nutrient Mix. This product is a game-changer for dog parents who prefer to prepare homemade meals for their furry friends but want to ensure all nutritional bases are covered.

Bridging the Gap Between Homemade and Complete Nutrition

Homemade dog food has its charm and benefits, offering control over ingredients and catering to specific preferences or dietary needs. However, as a veterinary technician, I often encounter a significant concern with homemade diets – they can lack essential nutrients. This is where The Farmer’s Dog DIY Nutrient Mix comes into play. It’s designed to complement your home-prepared dog meals, ensuring that they’re not just delicious but also nutritionally complete.

What’s in the Mix?

The DIY Nutrient Mix is a blend of vitamins and minerals, formulated to balance a homemade diet. It’s like a nutritional safety net, ensuring that your dog’s meals are well-rounded. This mix includes key elements that might be missing or insufficient in a typical homemade diet, such as calcium, potassium, and essential vitamins.

Versatility and Customization

The DIY Nutrient Mix is versatile. Whether you’re cooking a batch of chicken and rice, beef stew, or a veggie-packed meal for your dog, this mix can be added to virtually any recipe. It allows for customization in your dog’s diet while maintaining peace of mind about their nutritional intake.

A Look at the Costs 

The Farmer’s Dog pricing isn’t one-size-fits-all; it’s tailored to your dog’s specific needs. The cost depends on several factors, including your dog’s size, age, activity level, and any special dietary requirements. For example, a small, less active older dog will require less food, and hence the cost will be lower, compared to a large, high-energy young dog.

Based on the recommended plan for my dog, I got the Turkey, Beef, and Chicken Recipe. My first box was 50% off. On average, I was paying $1.28 per day. 

Meanwhile, for a DIY Nutrient Mix, here’s the average cost: 

  • 1 box every two weeks: $14.99/week 
  • 1 box every five weeks: $6/week 
  • 1 box every ten weeks: $3/week 
  • 1 box every 15 weeks: $2/week 
  • 1 box every 20 weeks: $1.50/week 

The Farmer’s Dog Review: Pros and Cons

As a veterinary technician with a keen eye for canine nutrition, I’ve come to appreciate the nuances of different dog food brands. In reviewing The Farmer’s Dog, I’ve weighed its advantages and drawbacks to help pet parents make an informed decision. Here’s a look at the pros and cons of The Farmer’s Dog.

Pros

  • High-Quality, Human-Grade Ingredients: The use of fresh, human-grade ingredients is a significant plus. This means the food is prepared with the same care and under the same standards as human food, which can contribute to better digestion, improved health, and overall well-being.

  • Customized Meal Plans: The personalized approach to meal planning based on your dog’s specific needs—considering factors like age, weight, activity level, and health issues—is a major advantage. It ensures that your dog gets the precise nutrition they require.

  • Convenience: The delivery service is a big perk for busy pet owners. Having pre-portioned, ready-to-serve meals delivered to your door takes the guesswork out of feeding your dog and saves time.

  • Improved Health Outcomes: Many users report positive changes in their dogs, such as shinier coats, higher energy levels, and better overall health, after switching to The Farmer’s Dog.

  • Eco-Friendly Packaging: The commitment to environmentally friendly practices, including biodegradable and recyclable packaging, is commendable.

Cons

  • Cost: The biggest drawback is the cost. The Farmer’s Dog is pricier than many commercial dog foods, which might not be feasible for every pet owner’s budget.

  • Freezer Space Requirement: Since the food is fresh and requires freezing, it demands a fair amount of freezer space, which could be a concern for those with limited storage.

  • Limited Protein Options: While they offer a variety of recipes, the protein options are somewhat limited. This might be a downside for dogs with specific protein allergies or preferences.

  • Transitioning Diet: Some dogs might need time to adjust to the new diet, especially if they’re used to dry kibble. Transitioning can be a process and might not be seamless for every dog.

  • Availability: Currently, The Farmer’s Dog is only available in certain areas, which might limit accessibility for some pet owners.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Can I customize The Farmer’s Dog recipes for allergies or sensitivities?

If your dog has specific allergies or sensitivities, The Farmer’s Dog allows for customization in their meal plans. When filling out the initial quiz, you can indicate any allergies or food sensitivities, and they will adjust the meals accordingly. However, it’s always advisable to consult with a veterinarian for dogs with severe allergies.

How does The Farmer’s Dog ensure food safety?

Food safety is a top priority for The Farmer’s Dog. Their meals are prepared in USDA-inspected kitchens, adhering to strict safety standards. Each batch undergoes testing for pathogens, ensuring that the food is safe for your dog to consume.

Is The Farmer’s Dog suitable for puppies?

Yes, The Farmer’s Dog provides meal plans that are specifically tailored for puppies. These recipes are designed to support the nutritional requirements of growing dogs, adjusting portions as your puppy matures.

Can I pause or cancel my subscription?

The Farmer’s Dog offers a flexible subscription model. You have the option to pause, modify, or cancel your subscription at any time, which is ideal for those who need to adjust their plan due to travel or other changes.

Is The Farmer’s Dog environmentally sustainable?

The Farmer’s Dog is dedicated to sustainability. They use eco-friendly and biodegradable packaging, reducing the environmental impact commonly associated with pet food production.

Final Woof: Is The Farmer’s Dog For You? 

Wrapping up this The Farmer’s Dog review, I feel like I’ve been on a delightful journey exploring what modern canine nutrition can really look like. From a vet tech’s perspective, it’s thrilling to see a company like The Farmer’s Dog not just filling bowls, but also enriching lives. They’re blending top-notch ingredients, tailor-made nutrition, and a dash of convenience to serve up more than just meals – they’re dishing out love and care in every bite.

So, for all the dog parents out there pondering a switch or just starting off with a furry bundle of joy, The Farmer’s Dog could be a game-changer. Sure, it might be a bit more of a splurge, but when it comes to the health and happiness of our four-legged family members, isn’t that a price worth paying? In my book, and in the hearts of many pet parents, the answer is a resounding yes. Remember, they’re not just pets, they’re part of the family – and The Farmer’s Dog seems to understand that perfectly.

VIEW THE FARMER'S DOG SHOP HERE

33 thoughts on “The Farmer’s Dog Review: An Honest Take on Fresh Dog Food”

  1. Having shipping troubles with farmers dog. they have good food but are largely unreliable for shipping. My dog was out of food for 2 weeks. What are other alternatives that people have tried with similar quality

    1. Woof Whiskers

      Ann – thanks for your comment; this is the first I’ve heard of shipment issues. Have you contacted them regarding this? I’m curious what their response was. I personally haven’t run into this.

    2. I too got sporadic shipments, I would run out before the next shipment. My main problem is, since switching to delivery foods, my 65 lb Kuvasz always seems hungry. I provide extra packs of the food and she keeps wanting more! I don’t know if it’s not satisfying her or it’s so good she just wants more and more!

      1. The Woof Whiskers Staff

        Hi Rita – I think it’s because your dog loves the taste. When I feed it to my dog Sasha, she would start drooling the second the package comes out of the fridge. She never gets like this with kibble.

      2. Rachel Shwayder

        These foods have fewer fillers and take less time to digest: would it be possible to separate her daily ration into 3 or more meals so she doesn’t feel so hungry between meals?

      3. Mia Robb

        I am having a similar problem! My dog is 25 lbs he’s always been completely satisfied on 2/3 cup of hills science diet a day. Now after feeding him all of the farmers dog he’s supposed to get in the day he will pace for hours begging and scratching at the pantry where his old dry food was kept. I’m worried he’s just really hungry he’s never done this before. Tonight I finally gave in and gave him 1/3 cup of his old food and now he’s happily cuddled up on the couch

  2. Patrick Pohlen

    Well here is the second (third, fourth and fifth) time you have heard of shipping issues. They are extremely unreliable and have very poor customer service. Twice we have received dog food for another dog. So not only did our dog have no food but neither did “Gracie.” One other time the food arrived spoiled. They have done nothing. At these prices completely unacceptable. So we are using someone else.

  3. Pat Randolph

    14 food packs just arrived marked Jackson. Will packs arrive for Bailey??

  4. Michele Cabot

    I was skeptical, but my two Pit-Mixes, sniff like crazy at feeding time. I decided to try The Farmers Dog, after the Dan Bongino Podcast, spoke so highly of this product. I have one fur-baby, who would eat anything but the other one, is fussy. He snarfs this food down, toute suite. Not a crumb is left for his ‘piglet’ sister. I love The Farmers Dog!

  5. I see the carbs are high in this farmer dog. Is that a bad thing m please let me know. Cause my 8 pound chipoo is eating this food now.
    I have tried grocery pup , raisedfresh, myollie, nomnomnow
    She loved the nomnomnow from oct 2018 till march 2019. Then she got sick from the chicken recipe and that was the end she refuses all recipes from them now.
    She walked away from raisedfresh. And myollie shipping times was not acceptable here no room in freezer for 2 months of food.
    Now my concern is the carbs being higher then protein in farmerdog.
    Thanks

    1. The Woof Whiskers Staff

      Hi Diane – Out of curiosity, which recipes did you use amongst the different companies?

      The carbs in The Farmer’s Dog recipes are no concern. In fact, they are still much lower than most premium kibbles, let alone the fact the carbs are coming from much better ingredients.

      As long as your dog does well on the food, there isn’t much to worry about. Let me know how she does with TFD. Sasha seems to enjoy this one the most.

  6. We’ve received our 3rd shipment for our mini-schnauzer mix. In our profile we indicated he needed to loose weight. Once he was where I wanted him, I asked them to modify so he wouldn’t loose any more weight. I asked my vet to calculate how many calories a day he should have, and her estimate was about 13% more than The Farmers Dog calculated, so I will have them adjust again. Haven’t had any issues with customer service or shipping and my baby loves the food. I only order the Beef and Turkey, the Pork is a higher protein contact and I’m hesitant to try it because he’s had issues with high protein food in the past.

  7. Heather

    We love Farmer’s Dog! I’m reading the comments about shipping but we’ve never had an issue and we’re on our fourth month. They message you to remind you of ship dates and you can expedite or delay based on your need. We’ve also never received another dog’s food and their customer service has been exceptional. When T-Bone turned his nose up at turkey in the trial servings, they inquired about his eating habits, likes and dislikes. The best part of FD is that our older, finicky fellow loves eating it without people food mixed in and we’ve noticed a big change in his appearance and activity level. He also stopped chewing his feet and scratching so much. It’s been well worth the cost!

  8. Rozann cupidi

    Just want to thank your site for all the information you give to are pets we love so much and who love us back unconditionally I just saw the commercial for TFD and knew nothing about it until I read your reviews they were incredibly helpful unfortunately the price is way beyond my means And I’m sure that it is so many people out there who want the best for Their pets that they love so very much again thank you so much for all the information that you give so all the pet lovers out there

    1. Shirley

      I am a senior citizen (widow) on a very limited income and was really interested in this for my companion dog who is all I have left in the world. Like you, when I was SO disappointed that the price is out of my budget. I wish they offered a senior discount. Maybe then more of us could afford it.

      1. I’m just on survivor’s benefits also. I too wish I could receive a senior discount of some sort. Between the 2 charities I support every month and my church (10%) saving enough money to help pay for my daughter’s college costs, I don’t think I could afford this 100%. Maybe I could try to buy less and add it as a topper instead?

  9. So glad I found the Farmers Dog food. My two pups love it! I have been thinking for a long time to switch to this food! There are so many great things about the food and the support group. I am always driving them crazy with questions and they are always quick to reply and are wonderful to me! In short we love the convince and the pups love love the food! So there ya go! Go get it, you’ll love it! 🥰🥰🥰

  10. Susan Hoffman Gallier

    I ordered this food for a 10 pound lazy poodle, they just debited my account $240 I feed a family of 4 on less then that a week and they eat much more than the dog. I was freaking out about the $240 they over drew my bank account, I called got a recording it was 4pm on Friday and I really wanted to speak with someone, I stocker called them hoping someone would answer but instead they blocked my number. Wow they had time to block my number but never did call me back. The food is good but I can make this for much less. I thought it was $30 per month worth it for that. I liked the dogs name on the bag nice touch would be better if the bag was resealable.

    1. Shirley

      Susan, I am so glad you posted! My heart goes out to you. I am a disabled senior citizen and have only $350 a month for my food, dog food, paper products, cleaning products, etc. If that happened to me I would have to eat the dog food. Seriously, that scares me. I’m so sorry that happened to you and I hope they got back to you and resolved the matter.

  11. JANE BRIDGES

    MY SHIH TSU IS THE PICKIEST EATER OF ANY DOG I’VE OWNED. I DON’T KNOW IF THIS FOOD WILL BE SOME THAT
    SHE WILL EAT, BUT I GUESS IT’S WORTH A TRY. HER FAVORITE PROTEIN IS CHICKEN AND BEEF. AND CROCKPOT
    PORK LOIN. SHE GOBBLES DOWN EGG WHITES.

  12. Love Farmer’s Dog! Roope loves the food – licks the empty bowl over and over. I’ve had great customer service. Love the “green” shipping materials. All thumbs up!!!

  13. Barbara Darlington

    I did not realize that more will be sent to Maggie. Please cancel that as I can’t get Maggie to eat this. So afraid to get anymore as the price is more than I can do. She is a picky eater and she will never eat what was already sent. I will donate to pound. I think my next order will be about $115 so I want to cancel that. We will just stick to what the vet suggested. Barbara Darlington, 317 Oak Park Dr. Tullahoma, Tn 37388 Sorry I guess I didn’t know much the next order would cost. We are in our 80 and mind is a little slow. Maggie is 10 and healthy with what she is eating now.

  14. Rachel Shwayder

    Looks like the coupon expired(?)
    I got this message when clicking on the link “The link you clicked on is malformed. Contact the editor of the originating page.”

  15. Ronald Grout

    I have an overweight Lhasa, I was desperate to help her lose weight without starving her. She has been eating FD for two weeks. I have never seen a dog get so excited about her meal, she jumps up and down like a bronco and barks until she is served. Not only does she eat the entire portion she usually goes back at least two times to ensure she missed nothing. FD is a bit pricey, that said if it makes our baby happy and healthy we will if necessary give up soft drinks, turn heat down a couple of degrees, etc. If this ends up helping our baby we are willing to help start a fund that helps folks who are on limited budgets. Best wishes…

  16. Sarah Buckley

    The deeper I dig, the more I find marketing hype, fake reviews, sick dogs, dogs loosing significant weight and honestly, I don’t know what to think at this point.

  17. Christopher

    how do you calculate for the protein, fat and carb percentages?

    love the reviews you do on your site. sasha is lucky to be taste-testing all the stuff you review!

  18. Michelle

    The company is the best most understanding business towards its customers. They know how to treat each family and pet as an individual. They allow you to feel that you matter. The product itself has been amazing for my dogs. My one dog has extreme health issues and this product has helped him to recovery from 5 different surgeries and be removed from 3 different medications. This product really has been life-changing for our special pet. They take the time to listen to your concerns and make adjusts that are needed according to the needs of your pet. They have been amazing through our difficult times by sending flowers and making sure he was recovering okay. This company is extraordinary. I would recommend that everyone used this company for their dogs. This was the best choice I have ever made for my pets.

  19. Judy McClenahan

    I feel like my dogs are drinking a lot more water ever since I started feeding them Farmers Dog anyone else had this issue? They love the food but it does seem like they are always starving and not satisfied.

  20. Catherine Horne

    My dog Elijah loves his food from The Farmers Dog! I am happy to say their calorie calculations have kept Eli right at his ideal 45 lbs. Also, I feel fortunate that his food shipments are right on time every time!

  21. Harold Hoang

    Are there any Protein versions that are OK with Dogs that have Congestive Heart failure? Mine at Stage B2 for a 14 lb poodle mix

  22. I started my new puppy off with the Farmer’s Dog food as a primary food supplemented with another high quality kibble. My puppy would eat the food but had the same level of interest in her kibble as she did for the more expensive “fresh” food. I also did not note any significant health differences between feeding my puppy the high quality kibble as opposed to the Farmer’s Dog fresh (fresh frozen) food. The company is very quick to ship an order but not always good with communications. Their process is to send an advance notification stating an order is being prepared which allows you to make changes before shipment if needed. Before my final order I received a text from their support when I was at an airport layover between flights stating an (unexpected) order was on the way. After I returned from my business trip I reached out to their support which was slow to acknowledge the issue and did not offer to provide a refund until I sent them multiple emails inquiring what happened and forcing them to acknowledge the issue in writing. They never clearly explained why the issue happened. I cancelled my service shortly after and do not regret doing so.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top